The mission of the Faculty of Education is to provide quality pre-service education programmes that produce effective teachers, as well as quality professional development courses and programmes for in-service teachers. The Faculty has three Departments:

  • The Department of Education (offers a wide range of courses that build the necessary building blocks for teaching such as learning and teaching theories, evaluation and assessment, values and ethics, and curriculum studies to name a few).
  • The Department of Expressive and Practical Arts (offers courses in Food & Textile Technology, Music, Performing Arts, Physical Education and Visual Art) and
  • The Department of Teacher Education (offers courses in curriculum and pedagogy, as well as overseeing teaching practice).

In addition to the Foundation Certificate Education, the Faculty offers a four-year Bachelor of Education programme for pre-and in-service students, a one-year Graduate Diploma in Education programme for those with a first degree who wish to gain a professional qualification for teaching and a Post Graduate Diploma in Education for those who wish to pursue further studies for a higher qualification.

The Post Graduate Diploma in Education can later staircase into a Master of Education. Current and future Science teachers also have the option of taking the Bachelor of Science (Secondary Teaching) programme in the Faculty of Science.