Front row (L – R): Dr Peter Brothers, Afamasaga Dr Karoline Afamasaga Fuata'i, Professor Silafau Sina Vaai, A'eau Chris Hazelman, Hon. Luamanuvao Winnie Laban, Professor Helen Nicholson, Fonoti Perelini S Perelini

Back Row (L – R): Fagalilo Mandria Sua, Kadine Alofagia Mose, Tofilau Dr Faguele Sualii, Peseta Dr Desmond Lee Hang, Fa'amausili Dr Matagialofi Lua'iufi, Sarona Rimoni Ponifasio, Beverly Levi, Su'a Diamond Brown, Manu Samoa Christine Sa'aga

The National University of Samoa Council referred hereafter as the Council is the governing body and Board of the University, as stipulated in the National University of Samoa Act 2006.


Composition of the Council

The Council consists of:

  • the Pro Chancellor who is the Chairperson;
  • the Vice-Chancellor & President;
  • a member of the Senate;
  • a member of the academic or teaching staff nominated by the Vice-Chancellor;
  • a student of the University who is not a member of the University staff;
  • the Chief Executive Officer of the Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture or nominee;
  • up to six persons who are not full time members of the staff or full time students of the University, appointed by the Head of State, acting on the advice of the Minister after consultations with the Executive Committee or Council; and
  • up to four persons co – opted by the Council at its discretion.

The current Council has twelve (12) local members and four (4) international members.





Faculty of Technical Education                                   International Students                                                        Financial Services                                                        NUS Statutes, Regulations and Policies

Faculty of Arts                                                            Current Students                                                                ICT                                                                                Planning

Faculty of Business and Entrepreneurship                Student Administration                                                       Properties and Maintenance                                         Secretariat

Faculty of Education                                                  Student Support Services                                                   Human Resource

Faculty of Health Science                                          Scholarships                                                                       

Faculty of Science                                                     NUS Student Email

                                                                                  International Office

CENTRES NUS Quality Assurance    

Centre for Samoan Studies                                       Quality at NUS

Oloamanu Centre                                                      Services                                                       



Social Media

                                                                                                                      NUS General Map                                                                                             

Go to top